Sick Day

Tis healthy to be sick sometimes.

-Henry David Thoreau

It’s been over a year since I was last sick. I almost forgot what it’s like to take a forced day off from work or school, but here I am.  I also forgot what being sick is supposed to feel like;

My mind conjures up images of grumpy, snotty, sneezing people walking around like miserable, brain-starved zombies. They put on their torn, stained, and mismatching P.J.s and are about as fun to be around as a lifeless creature of the night.

But today, I defied the odds.

I decided not to play the “sick role,” and instead to get a few things done. I’ve been meaning to start a blog for a long time, and I hope that this is the first of many.

When spits in your eye, remember that you’ve always got a second eye. I believe Shakespeare wrote that…well, maybe not.  Nonetheless, if you get a viral infection and have to take off from work, then start a project at home you’ve been putting off.  If you injured your shoulder, you can always put in extra lower body work.  TV’s broken?  Pick up a book!

Don’t make the mistake of letting circumstances get the best of you.  Worry about what you can control, and try to forget the rest.

Easier said than done…but today, I’ve got a blog to show for it.

About this entry