Recent Life Lessons

The end of 2008 and beginning of 2009 have revealed some very interesting life lessons.  I believe that the more we learn about ourselves, the greater our potential as athletes, fitness enthusiasts, lifters, personal trainers, strength coaches, family members, artists, etc.  I’d like to share a few things that have opened up my eyes during the transition into to the New Year.  I hope to work out a few installments.

Lesson#1-  Understand why you avoid the uncomfortable.

I’ve enjoyed writing since I was a wee lad.  But before high school started, I began to develop an aversion to it.  In college, I proof read maybe five papers in four years.  I was a member of the Emerson Comedy Workshop, a sketch comedy troupe on campus.  I never wrote a single sketch in three years.  In a solo performance class, I was assigned to write, direct, and act in my own fifteen minute theater production.  The entire thing had maybe ten very short lines of dialouge.  I actually pulled it off nicely , but I’m sure that it would have been better with some use of the English language thrown in.  There was a pattern.  In hindsight, it should have been as clear as a horsekick to the throat, but I had been oblivious.   I had made the decision that I simply wasn’t interested in writing…or so I thought.

Fast forward to October of 2008.  My friend, Nate Green, was waiting for the release of his great new book, “Built For Show” (I highly recommend it anyone looking for a powerful physique-altering program).  Looking for articles to put on the resources page of his website, he asked me if I would contribute.  I was nervous as hell and didn’t want to write something that would be used as replacement for Charmin toilet paper.  Most of all, I didn’t want him to to feel obliged to put it up if he wasn’t a fan.  But, I ended up making one of the best decisions that I have in a long time;

I decided to trust the people whose opinion I respect, and take some possibly humiliating risks.

Nate thought that I was capable of a quality article, and that’s why he asked me for one.  If you don’t believe that you can do something, but you value the opinions of those that think you can…do it.  I had a deadline and a subject, so I got to work and found a lost joy the process.  By November 1st, I had submitted it and recieved some positive feedback.  In late December, I had an article published on T-Nation.com; one of my favorite websites for training information and one that I’ve been reading for probably seven years.  Tomorrow, January 21st, 2009, my first work in a print publication will hit the newsstands in “Life & Style” magazine.  I’m currently developing another T-Nation article and a roundtable discussion for EliteFTS.com.

Frankly, I still have a ton of apprehension when it comes to writing.  I am consistently worried about running out of ideas.  In fact, I’m not even sure how much I like my own work.  But the people who I respect have been telling me that it’s worth reading, so I’m going to ignore the negative voice in my head and side with them.  Sometimes, we all need to look inside ourselves and shut down our egos.   Ask yourself why you are afraid of pursuing what might make you happier and listen to those around you whose opinion you put stake in.

About this entry